Demolition of I-595/Turnpike Ramp

The Florida Department of Transportation completed demolition of the out-of-service bridge connecting I-595 and southbound Florida’s Turnpike on Sunday, April 7 at 7 p.m.

During this operation, construction crews removed the concrete from the bridge, and then cut the steel beams that spanned over both northbound and southbound Florida’s Turnpike.  Over the next several weeks, construction crews will remove the debris from the demolition out of the work zone. Removing this ramp opens a work zone necessary for crews to continue working at the Florida’s Turnpike interchange.

The new replacement bridge in this area opened on Friday, March 22 as part of the ongoing efforts to eliminate weaving movements at the Florida’s Turnpike interchange, as part of the I-595 Express Corridor Improvements Project.

For an overview of the bridge demolition, please visit our construction updates webpage at http://construction.i-595.com, and for more information about the I-595 Express Corridor Improvements Project, please visit our website at www.i-595.com.

Demolition of I-595/Turnpike RampDemolition of I-595/Turnpike Ramp

