I-4 Selmon Connector Tour

On Tuesday, June 18, the Greater Tampa Chamber Policy Council, along with members of FDOT District Seven, had the opportunity to tour the I-4/Selmon Expressway Connector Project. Construction Engineering and Inspection guru Sherman Johnson served as lead “tour guide” on the half-mile round trip, providing the group with a wealth of knowledge and information about the major project in downtown Tampa. When completed, the project will include a state-of-the-art toll facility with an all-electronic toll collection system that will allow for traffic to maintain highway speeds and for maintenance of toll equipment without disrupting traffic. The electronic open road tolling will be done through SunPass and Toll-by-Plate. The new roadway will also provide exclusive truck lanes for direct access to the Port of Tampa and remove heavy truck traffic from local roads in Ybor City, one of only two National Historic Districts in Florida. The estimated date of completion for the project is fall 2013.

I-4 Selmon Conector Tour

I-4 Selmon Conector Tour      I-4 Selmon Conector Tour

I-4 Selmon Conector Tour

I-4 Selmon Conector Tour      I-4 Selmon Conector Tour

