The Governor’s Corner

Governor Rick Scott

Ann and I recently got a great reminder of the importance of Florida’s hard working public servants to the future of our state. A few weeks ago my daughter Allison gave birth to her second son – and my second grandson. In September, my younger daughter Jordan is expecting her first child.

Children have a way of reminding us all how important it is to have good schools, safe neighborhoods, good roads, a clean environment and limitless opportunities. Like families across the state, I want my grandchildren to have the tools they need so they can pursue their version of the American Dream. It is thanks, in large part, to the work of our public servants that the quality of life for families across the Sunshine State is improving each and every day.

This July we learned that more than 34,000 jobs were created in a single month, which represents tens of thousands of individuals who are able to support their families and pursue their dreams. When I took office, my goal was to create 700,000 jobs in seven years, and in two and a half years, we’re more than halfway to that goal. Every job we create benefits every aspect of our communities – and creates greater opportunities for future generations. It’s under the success of Florida’s hardworking public servants that our families will be even more poised to succeed in a state that’s ripe with opportunity.

