District One Secretary Hattaway Receives John Nolen Medal

On Thursday, February 19, District One Secretary Billy Hattaway received the prestigious John Nolen Medal from the Florida Chapter of the Congress for the New Urbanism (CNU) during their annual summit in Orlando.

CNU is the leading organization promoting sustainable communities with mixed-use neighborhood development leading to healthier living conditions.

District One Secretary Hattaway Receives John Nolan Medal

According to the CNU website, CNU members have used the principles in CNU’s Charter to promote the hallmarks of New Urbanism, including:

District One Secretary Hattaway Receives John Nolan Medal

John Nolen Medal

  • Livable streets arranged in compact, walkable blocks.
  • A range of housing choices to serve people of diverse ages and income levels.
  • Schools, stores and other nearby destinations reachable by walking, bicycling or transit service.
  • An affirming, human-scaled public realm where appropriately designed buildings define and enliven streets and other public spaces.

In addition to his responsibilities as District Secretary, Billy is the champion for the department’s Pedestrian and Bicycle Focused Initiative to improve pedestrian and bicyclist safety in the state of Florida. He is also the Chair for Bike/Walk Central Florida, a non-profit organization dedicated to safety for pedestrians and bicyclists.

District One Secretary Hattaway Receives John Nolan Medal

Secretary Billy Hattaway receiving the John Nolen Medal (third from left)

His professional experience includes transportation planning, street design, safety and traffic analysis for a wide variety of transportation projects including redevelopment, transit oriented development and master plan charrette projects to create walkable, bike and transit friendly communities. Billy is the author of the new Traditional Neighborhood Development Chapter and Handbook for the Florida Green Book. Billy was recognized by Governing Magazine as a 2014 Public Official of the Year for his leadership on the safety initiative at FDOT.