I-4 Ultimate Groundbreaking

I-4 Ultimate Groundbreaking

Left to Right: I-4 Ultimate groundbreaking participants included District Five Secretary Noranne Downs (fourth), Governor Rick Scott (sixth), FDOT Secretary Jim Boxold (eighth), and FDOT’s I-4 Ultimate Project Administrator Loreen Bobo (far right)

Governor Rick Scott participated in a groundbreaking ceremony for the $2.3 billion I-4 Ultimate project, which will rebuild Interstate 4 through metro-Orlando. The project will reconstruct 21 miles of I-4 from Kirkman Road in Orange County to just east of State Road 434 in Seminole County, adding two new tolled Express Lanes in each direction, replacing more than 140 bridges, reconfiguring 15 major interchanges, and constructing the entire existing roadway. The use of a public-private partnership for the I-4 Ultimate project will help deliver these improvements nearly 20 years sooner than using conventional methods. With roughly 1.5 million daily trips on I-4, the I-4 Ultimate project will greatly reduce congestion for travelers. The I-4 Ultimate could see nearly 2,000 people working on the project, including engineers and designers behind the scenes. The project is also expected to benefit businesses and workers supporting the project such as construction material suppliers and manufacturers. Project completion is expected in 2021.

